Ioannis Kaisas was elected assistant professor of the Electricity Sector of the ECE Department in November 2021. From autumn 2022 he manages the Laboratory of Nuclear Technology, which already had a distinguished role among its partners in Greece, demonstrating long-term teaching and research activities and social assiduity during the periods of the Chernobyl and Fukushima nuclear accidents.

Mr. Kaisas holds a degree (Ptychion) in Physics granted by the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, a MSc in Medical Physics – Radiation Physics and a PhD in the determination of the spatial distribution of radioactive sources by applying coded apertures to pixelated spectroscopic detectors. In addition, he has successfully attended continuing education and training schools in his field of knowledge and has participated in relevant scientific fora.

Based on the above studies, the relevant research and his long-term service in the Greek Atomic Energy Commission and in the Piraeus “Metaxa” anti-cancer hospital, he was recently awarded the titles of Radiation Protection Expert in the fields of medical exposure and non-medical exposure, i.e. in industrial, research and environmental fields. This expertise is utilized for the benefit of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, undertaking related projects.

He teaches the courses: Introduction to Nuclear Technology Applications; Theory and Technology of Nuclear Reactors and co-teaches the courses: Heat Transfer; Applied Thermodynamics of the undergraduate curriculum. He also teaches two courses: Nuclear Technology Applications; Theory and Technology of Nuclear Reactors in the postgraduate program of the ECE Department. Mr. Kaisas’s teaching activities include the supervision of students’ diploma theses for the completion of their studies, in the topics of application of nuclear technology in industry, medicine and the environment, such as: new type nuclear reactors (SMRs and micro-reactors); nuclear safety; management and classification of naturally occurring radioactive materials (NORM), measurements of Cesium distribution on ground-depth due to the Chernobyl accident, radon measurements, ionizing radiation detector metrology and environmental radioactivity measurements. In addition, he co-authored the book of the Springer, (editor Kris Iniewsky), “Advanced X-ray Detector Technologies: Design and Applications” and specifically the chapter “Coded Aperture Technique with CdTe Pixelated Detector for the Identification of the 3D coordinates of Radioactive Hot -Spots”.

His research focuses on ionizing radiation detectors, nuclear safety, decommissioning of nuclear facilities and radioactive waste management. A work, in which he participated, was awarded the IEEE Publication Encouragement Award 2017. He was elected as a representative of Technical Support Organizations (TSO College) of the European Joint Program on Radioactive Waste Management (EURAD ). He was invited by NEA’s Directorate of Radiological Protection and Human Aspects of Nuclear Safety to chair the meeting of the Radiation Protection and Public Health Committee of the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) in the conference Multifactor Optimization of Predisposal Management of Radioactive Waste.